STUDENT RESEARCH TRAINING PROGRAM (SRTP)
      in DIABETES and ENDOCRINOLOGY
2014 Lecture Schedule

The SRTP offers a lecture series featuring notable speakers.

Location will be at 7455 MRB IV unless otherwise noted.

DIRECTIONS TO 7455 MRB IV: Use the elevators in Light Hall to reach the seventh floor; then enter MRB IV through the double doors leading to the Diabetes, Endocrinology, and Metabolism conference room, 7455 MRB IV, atop the Langford Auditorium, http://www.vanderbilt.edu/map

Please see the schedule below for information on this summer's program:

Day Date Time Speaker Title View
Video (Flash)
Tue 06/03/14 8-9 am Alvin C. Powers, M.D. Introduction to Diabetes View
Lecture »
Tue 06/10/14 8-9 am David Wasserman, Ph.D. Exercise and Diabetes View
Lecture »
Thur 06/12/14 8-9 am John Stafford, M.D., Ph.D. Obesity-associated Cardiovascular Disease View
Lecture »
Tue 06/17/14 8-9 am Michael Fowler, M.D. Taking it to the People View
Lecture »
Thur 06/19/14 8-9 am Shari Barkin, M.D., MSHS Pediatric Obesity: Connecting the Dots View
Lecture »
Tues 06/24/14 8-9 am Dan Moore, M.D., Ph.D. The Immunology of Diabetes from Basic Pathogenesis to Clinical Intervention View
Lecture »
Wed. 06/25/14 8-9 am Amanda Peltier, M.D., M.S. Diabetic Neuropathy  View
Lecture »
Thur 06/26/14 8-9 am Shubhada Jagasia, M.D., MMHC Gestational Diabetes View
Lecture »
Tue 07/01/14 8-9 am John Penn, Ph.D. Diabetic Retinopathy View
Lecture »
Thur 07/03/14 8-9 am Kevin Niswender, M.D., Ph.D. Metabolic Syndrome View
Lecture »
Tue 07/08/14 8-9 am Owen McGuinness, Ph.D. Regulation of Glucose Tolerance View
Lecture »
Thur 07/10/14 8-9 am MacRae Linton, M.D. Macrophage Apoptosis in Atherosclerosis: A Matter of Life and Death View
Lecture »
Tue 07/15/14 8-9 am Wenbiao Chen, Ph.D. Using Zebrafish to Understand Genetics of Glucose Homoestasis View
Lecture »
Thur 07/17/14 8-9 am Alyssa Hasty, Ph.D. Iron Overload: the Overlooked Risk Factor for Diabetes View
Lecture »
Tues 07/22/14 8-9 am Russell Rothman, M.D., MPP Addressing Health Literacy & Health Communication in Diabetes & Obesity View
Lecture »
Tues 07/29/14 8-9 am Maureen Gannon, Ph.D. Regulation of Pancreatic Beta Cell Mass View
Lecture »
Thur 07/31/14 8-9 am Jami Miller, M.D. TBA View
Lecture »

The Medical Student Summer Research Training Program is supported by the Vanderbilt Short Term
Research Training Program for Medical Students (NIH grant DK007383) and the Vanderbilt Diabetes
Research and Training Center (NIH grant DK20593).

Vanderbilt University is committed to principles of equal opportunity and affirmative action.
Contact VUMC Webmaster / Contact SRTP Webmaster
Copyright © 2014, Vanderbilt University Medical Center

Last updated: 07/24/2014