STUDENT RESEARCH TRAINING PROGRAM (SRTP)
      in DIABETES and ENDOCRINOLOGY
2015 Lecture Schedule

The SRTP offers a lecture series featuring notable speakers.

Location will be at 7455 MRB IV unless otherwise noted.

DIRECTIONS TO 7455 MRB IV: Use the elevators in Light Hall to reach the seventh floor; then enter MRB IV through the double doors leading to the Diabetes, Endocrinology, and Metabolism conference room, 7455 MRB IV, atop the Langford Auditorium, http://www.vanderbilt.edu/map

Please see the schedule below for information on this summer's program:

Day Date Time Speaker Title View
Video
Tues 06.02.15 8-9 am Alvin C. Powers, M.D. Introduction to Diabetes View
Lecture »
Thurs 06.04.15 8-9 am John Stafford, M.D., Ph.D. Obesity-associated Cardiovascular Disease View
Lecture »
Tues 06.09.15 8-9 am Dan Moore, M.D., Ph.D. The Immunology of Diabetes from Basic Pathogenesis to Clinical Intervention View
Lecture »
Thurs 06.11.15 8-9 am Maureen Gannon, Ph.D. Strategies for Beta Cell
Replacement to Treat Diabetes
View
Lecture »
Tues 06.16.15 8-9 am Kevin Niswender, M.D., Ph.D. Drug Discovery in Diabetes View
Lecture »
Thurs 06.18.15 8-9 am Roger Cone, Ph.D.

The Basic Science of Obesity *Location: 8455 MRB IV*

View
Lecture »
Tues 06.23.15 8-9 am Michael Fowler, M.D. Diabetes and the Underserved Population View
Lecture »
Thurs 06.25.15 8-9 am John Penn, Ph.D. Diabetic Retinopathy View
Lecture »
Tues 06.30.15 8-9 am Owen McGuinness, Ph.D.

Regulation of Glucose Intolerance

View
Lecture »
Thurs 07.02.15 8-9 am David Jacobson, Ph.D. Ion Channel Control of Insulin
Secretion in the Context of Diabetes
View
Lecture »
Tues 07.07.15 8-9 am David Wasserman, Ph.D Diabetes and Exercise

View
Lecture »
Thurs 07.09.15 8-9 am Elizabeth R. Seaquist M.D. Albert & Miriam Weinstein Lecture

208 LH

Tues 07.14.15 8-9 am

Chandra Osborn, Ph.D., M.P.H.

Using Technology to
Promote Medication Adherence
View
Lecture »
Thurs 07.16.15 8-9 am Craig Duvall, Ph.D. Using Drug Delivery Technologies to
Reduce Morbidity from Diabetes
View
Lecture »
Tues 07.21.15     CANCELLED  
Thurs 07.23.15 8-9 am Todd Hulgan, M.D., M.P.H. The Other Genome: Mitochondrial DNA Variation and Metabolic Outcomes of HIV Infection and Treatment View
Lecture »
Tues 07.28.15 8-9 am Russell Rothman, M.D., M.P.H. Addressing Health Literacy & Health Communication in Diabetes & Obesity View
Lecture »
Thurs 07.30.15 8-9 am Wenbiao Chen, Ph.D. Zebrafish as a Model for Diabetes View
Lecture »

The Medical Student Summer Research Training Program is supported by the Vanderbilt Short Term
Research Training Program for Medical Students (NIH grant DK007383) and the Vanderbilt Diabetes
Research and Training Center (NIH grant DK20593).

Vanderbilt University is committed to principles of equal opportunity and affirmative action.
Contact VUMC Webmaster / Contact SRTP Webmaster
Copyright © 2015, Vanderbilt University Medical Center

Last updated: 07/23/2015