Temporarily Unavailable
Temporarily Unavailable
Nashville, TN
Featured Image

Marshall Summar, M.D., was this year's recipient of the Grant W. Liddle Award.

Research Forum honors science promotion efforts


5/06/2005 - Marshall Summar, M.D., associate professor of Pediatrics and Molecular Physiology & Biophysics, is this year's recipient of the Grant W. Liddle Award for “exemplary leadership in the promotion of scientific research” at Vanderbilt University Medical Center.

The award was presented last Friday during the 23rd Annual Research Forum sponsored by the House Staff Advisory Council.

Volunteer faculty evaluated 66 research abstracts by residents, clinical fellows and medical students, and selected the most meritorious for oral or poster presentations. Six oral presentations — three in basic science research and three in clinical research — were delivered.

Faculty judges chose the best presentation in each category to receive the Elliott V. Newman Prize. This year's winners were Fred Y. Wu, Ph.D., a second-year VUSM student; and Heidi Smith, M.D., a clinical fellow in Pediatric Critical Care.

Winners of the best poster presentations were, for basic science, Michael Engel, M.D., Ph.D., a clinical fellow in Pediatric Hematology/Oncology, and for clinical science, Bradley Thomas, M.D., a third-year resident in Radiology.

The following faculty and residents were chosen for teaching awards by the third- and fourth-year medical students:

• Joyce E. Johnson, M.D., associate professor of Pathology, received the Jack Davies Award for teaching excellence in basic science;

• Anderson Spickard III, M.D., assistant professor of Medicine and Biomedical Informatics, received the Thomas E. Brittingham Clinical Teaching Award;

• Sharon Norman, M.D., fourth-year resident in Obstetrics and Gynecology, received the Jay W. Hillman House Officer Award.

Resident teaching awards also were given to Derek Riebau, M.D., fourth-year resident in Neurology; Robert Riviello, M.D., fourth-year resident in General Surgery; Kristina Storck, M.D., fourth-year resident in Obstetrics and Gynecology; and Erik Sumner, M.D., fourth-year resident in Internal Medicine and chief resident in Medicine.

©2018 Vanderbilt University Medical Center
Editorial tool created by VUMC Web Development



Vanderbilt Farmers Market

Thursdays, 3-6 p.m., Medical Center Plaza



Vanderbilt University Medical Center