The Vanderbilt Anesthesiology Clinical Research Advisory Committee (VACRAC) was formed in 2009 to promote clinical research within the Department of Anesthesiology. The committee supports new investigators in developing clinical research projects that will lead to publication and, if possible, extramural funding. The committee also oversees the development and conduct of industry-sponsored and investigator-initiated research by developing and managing essential research support services and programs.

The committee mentors potential investigators throughout the research development process and creates opportunities for ongoing learning about research methods, proposal writing, IRB applications, data management and analysis, and presentation/publication skills. The committee also reviews new research proposals and regularly audits ongoing investigations for effectiveness and compliance with regulatory and safety guidelines. Committee members are Edward Sherwood (chair), Matt Shotwell (co-chair), Pratik Pandharipande, Paul St. Jacques, Brian Donahue, Curtis Baysinger, Jason Lane, Dan France, and Damon Michaels.

This page was last updated April 10, 2013 and is maintained by