Department of Surgery

Chairman's Message

Dr. KarpWelcome to the Department of Surgery at Vanderbilt University School of Medicine. The department consists of 116 full-time faculty in various surgical disciplines and is organized into six divisions: general surgery, trauma and surgical critical care, surgical oncology and endocrine surgery, vascular surgery,  liver transplant and  hepatobiliary surgery, and kidney transplantation and and pancreas surgery. We also have 23 full-time research faculty, 96 residents and fellows, and more than 400 staff. Our residents cover services in  distinct but geographically close hospitals, including the Vanderbilt University Medical Center, the Nashville Veterans Affairs Medical Center, and St. Thomas Hospital.

The Department of Surgery has experienced significant growths in research funding over the past five years. Most of the funding has been derived from the NIH and exceeded 8.5 million USD in 2006. In addition, we have also experienced significant increase in funding from industry, foundations and from philanthropic donors. Taken together, this places our department in the top 10 programs in the nation in research funding.

Seth J. Karp, M.D.
H. William Scott, Jr., Chair in Surgery
Chairman, Department of Surgery

This page was last updated October 16, 2015 and is maintained by