The Department of Radiology & Radiological Sciences

2000 Walter Bowman, RT(R)
2001 Joe Knuutila, RT(R)(MRI)
2002 Chris Kelly, RT(R)(CV)
2003 Kim Haliburton, MA
2004 Tina Herron, RT(R)(CT)
2005 Margaret RogersRT(MRI)
2006 Dawn Shone, CNMT
2007 Debbie Holland
2008 Cathy Perry, RN
2009 Carol Duong, RT(R)
2010 Mark Everett MLAS,RT
2011 Jill Trotter BS RT(R) RDMS RVT
2012 Sarah Moore  MBA, CNMT, RT(CT)
1994 Jacqueline Barnhart RT(R)
1995 Donna Kepple, RT, RDMS
1996 Billy Thornhill, RT(R)(MRI)
1997 Tina Herron, RT(R)(CT)
1998 Jason West, RT(R)
1999 Thelma Fisher, RT(R)
2000 Ricardo Andal, RT(R)(MRI)
2001 Joe Knuutila, RT(R)(MRI)
2002 Jerry DeWitt, RT(R)(CT)
2003 Beverly Holoneck, RT(R)
2004 Sarah Moore, CNMT, PET
2005 Debbie DeskinsRT(R)(CT)
2006 Dahl Irvin, RT(R)(CT)
2007 Margaret Rogers RT(MRI)
2008 R. Scott Slaten, RT(R)
2009 Ricardo Andal, RT(R)(MRI)
2010 Peter Eyler, MD
2012 Phil Williams RT(R) RDMS RVT
 O. Malcolm Sloan
Chief X-ray Technologist
Vanderbilt University Hospital
1951 - 1993 


Vanderbilt University was recognized by Fortune Magazine this year as being one of the "Best 100 Places To Work". Vanderbilt is the first academic institution to achieve this distinction. We have long known that Vanderbilt and its Department of Radiology and Radiological Sciences were great places to work, but it's very nice to receive this recognition. Congeniality and collegiality are hallmarks of this institution, making it a wonderful place to engage in patient care, learning and research.

The clinical program thrives because of the participation of over 200 certified technologists, many of whom trained at Vanderbilt, and a robust, effective administrative infrastructure. A joint technical and professional billing group manages the billing operations of the department and ensures a seamless process for hospital and physician billings. 


The Department of Radiology and Radiological Sciences recently received a renewal of accreditation from the American College of Radiology (ACR). The ACR is an independent, CMS-designated accrediting body that oversees more than 20,000 facilities around the country. It is a professional society with the purpose of improving the health of patients by maximizing the value of radiology and radiologists.

Radiology Directors and Managers display the accreditation emblems recently received from the American College of Radiology.
Front row: Rhonda Tully, Tina Herron, Dawn Shone and Allen Bowman
Back row: Joe Knuutila, Ric Andal, Margaret Rogers and Phil Williams

“This provides assurances to our patients, physicians and the general public that what we are doing here meets certain agreed upon standards,” said Jeremy Kaye, M.D., the Carol D. and Henry P. Pendergrass professor and chair of the Department of Radiology and Radiological Sciences. “We have been undergoing this certification process for years. It is truly a quality assurance method that primarily says we are doing quality work and doing our jobs correctly and safely,” added Kaye.

The extensive certification process looks at the equipment, assesses the image quality and reviews the qualifications and credentials of technologists, radiologists and medical physicists.
The evaluation also looks at patient and employee safety as well as quality control and assurance of all imaging modalities including CT, MRI, nuclear medicine, PET, ultrasound and mammography.


Malcolm Sloan served as Chief X-ray Technologist having worked in the Department of Radiology at Vanderbilt for 42 years from 1951 until 1993. In addition to his skills as an imager, Mr. Sloan was also known for his ability to fabricate catheters for interventional radiology procedures. He had a small shop in the department and would often produce a special catheter at the request of a radiologist for a diagnostic procedure and then assist the radiologist in the performance of the procedure.

Mr. Sloan’s career was marked by honors from others and respect from his co-workers.  In 1992, he was one of the first winners of the annual Vanderbilt Commodore Award, given to staff members who far exceed the expectations of their jobs. The annual award given by the Radiology department to the outstanding medical imager is named the O. Malcolm Sloan Award in his honor.
“Malcolm Sloan was one of the most dedicated and hard-working individuals that I have ever known. He was highly respected by all who were associated with him,” said James A. Patton, Ph.D., Professor of Radiology and Physics and Vice Chair, Finance and Administration, who worked with Mr. Sloan for many years. “He helped train many technologists and radiologists and this legacy remains today as a tribute to him,” Patton said.
Mr. Sloan passed away in 2006 and is survived by his wife of 52 years, Ann Baker Sloan; four children; his mother, Eura Krantz Sloan Van Atta; a brother and sister; a father-in-law; six grandchildren and two great grandchildren.
The Malcolm Sloan Radiology Student Scholarship Fund has been set up in his honor. The faculty of the Department of Radiology funded the initial $25,000 of the scholarship fund. Donors can make an On-Line Contribution by specifically indicating which fund they desire and address the memorial donation to Vanderbilt Medical Center Gift Processing, PMB 407727 , 2301 Vanderbilt Place, Nashville, TN 37240-7727.

This page was last updated October 20, 2011 and is maintained by