The Department of Radiology & Radiological Sciences

EUGENE C. KLATTE, M.D. (Chairman 1962 - 1971)

Eugene C. Klatte received a B.A. in Chemistry from Indiana University in 1949 and earned his M.D. from Indiana University School of Medicine in 1952. He gained interest in radiology after completing his internship at the University of Michigan in 1953 and serving two years in the United States Air Force as a captain.  Klatte then returned to Indiana University, conducting pioneering work in developing cinefluoroscopy and cineradiography as diagnostic tools to study cardiovascular, genitourinary, and other diseases. He was appointed Assistant Professor of Radiology, Indiana University School of Medicine in 1958, then Associate Professor and Director of Pediatric and Cardiovascular Radiology in 1961.

Klatte joined the faculty at Vanderbilt University School of Medicine fin 1962 as Professor and Chair of the Department of Radiology. Klatte inherited the new department but with the help of his faculty and Malcolm Sloan, his energetic and very talented Chief Technologist, they made extensive revisions to the department despite various unforeseen implementation problems. With Klatte’s interest and resources, the responsibility for the Radioisotope Center was transferred from the Hospital Division of Laboratories to the Department of Radiology in 1965. The Division of Nuclear Medicine and Biophysics remained as an academic division in the Department of Medicine, with only administrative support from Radiology. Klatte assisted in recruiting many new faculty for the department.
In 1971, however, Klatte left Vanderbilt and returned to the University of Indiana, the place where he had received his early training, to assume the position of Professor and Chair for their Department of Radiology. In 1979, Klatte was appointed Distinguished Professor of Radiology and in 1991, he retired as Distinguished Professor Emeritus and Raymond C. Beeler Professor Emeritus of Radiology.
Dr. Klatte has received numerous honors including Phi Beta Kappa, 1947; Alpha Omega Alpha, 1951; Picker Scholar in Radiological Research, Indiana University School of Medicine, 1957-59; Gold Medal Award of the Association of University Radiologists, 1989; Glenn W. Irwin, Jr. Award for Distinguished Faculty Service, Indiana University, 1990; School of Medicine Alumni Association, May, 1990; Gold Medal Award of the American Roentgen Ray Society, 1991; Gold Medal Award of the Indiana Roentgen Society, 1996; Gold Medal Award Radiological Society of North America, 1998.
Dr. Klatte is a member of numerous professional societies including American Board of Radiology; American College of Chest Physicians, Fellow; American College of Radiology, Fellow; American College of Radiology, Board of Chancellors; American Roentgen Ray Society; American Medical Association; Association of University Radiologists; Indiana State Medical Association; Indiana Chapter, American College of Radiology; Radiological Society of North America; Society of Cardiovascular Radiology, fellow; Society of Chairmen of Academic Radiology Departments; and Southern Radiological Society. He is also a reviewer for American Journal of Roentgenology, Radiology, and JAMA.

This page was last updated July 22, 2010 and is maintained by