Department of Pathology, Microbiology, and Immunology



aKUDOS to Drs. Paul Bock and Ingrid Verhamme 

A recent publication by Ingrid Verhamme, Ph.D. and Paul Bock, Ph.D., both PMI faculty members,  "Rapid binding of plasminogen to streptokinase in a catalytic complex reveals a three-step mechanism" has been designated one of the best papers published by the Journal of Biological Chemistry in 2014. Only 21 papers of the thousands published by the JBC last year were accorded this designation. The Verhamme and Bock paper  (J Biol Chem 289, 28006-28018, 2014) was the topic paper in the enzymology category.   Bock Profile.  Verhamme Profile.


aNew Faculty

Maria Christina Pacheco, M.D.
Assistant Professor 
Anatomic Pathology Division

Specialty:  Pediatric pathology, liver and GI and utilization management 


aTerumo BCT’s 2014 Advancing Apheresis Awardee

Garrett Booth, M.D., Assistant Professor of PMI
Associate Medical Director, Transfusion Medicine

Dr. Garrett Booth has received a $10,000 global grant to explore the efficacy of a mobile application to educate patients, nurses, clinical providers and transfusion medicine trainees about apheresis.

2015 Mini-Sabbatical Awardees

a♦  Program in Microbial Pathogenesis

Joe Alvin, Borden Lacy Lab.  Dept of PMI. In collaboration with: Jonathan Schmitz Lab, PMI
Bobby Jones, Chandravanu (CV) Dash Lab, Meharry Center for AIDS Health Disparities Research. In collaboration with: Chris Aiken Lab, PMI.

♦  Program in Immunology

Diana Contreras, Holly Algood Lab,  PMI. In collaboration with: Richard Peek Lab,     Depts of Medicine and Cancer Biology
Sudheer Pabbisetty, Eric Sebzda Lab, PMI. In collaboration with: Luc Van Kaer Lab, PMI
Pavlo Gilchuk, Sebastian Joyce Lab.  In collaboration with: Doug Green Lab, St. Judes Children’s Hospital, Memphis, TN.     * Information on "Mini-Sabbaticals"


Video Interview:  "Lobular Breast Cancer Studies"

aJennifer Giltnane, M.D., Ph.D.
Assistant Professor, IP Division

Location of interview:  San Antonio Breast Cancer Symposium

Source:  MedPage Today and ASCO.    Link to Video


Six PMI Faculty elected AAAS Fellowsa

Left to Right:  Agnes Fogo, M.D.; Richard Hoover, Ph.D.; Jay Jerome, Ph.D.; Simon Mallal, MBBS, FRACP, FRCPA; Donald Rubin, M.D.; and James Thomas, M.D.

Six members of PMI's faculty have been elected fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) for this year.  

They are among 401 fellows from around the country selected by their peers because of their “scientifically or socially distinguished efforts to advance science or its applications.”
Link to complete article

Sidney P. Colowick Awards


"Outstanding Graduate Student Research"

  Brian Grieb, Chris Eischen Lab (left)
  Chase Spurlock, Thomas Aune Lab (right)


a "Outstanding Postdoctoral Fellow Research"
Catherine Wakeman, Eric Skaar Lab



This page was last updated January 14, 2015 and is maintained by