Department of Pathology, Microbiology, and Immunology

Anatomic Links

Division Faculty



Division of
Anatomical Pathology

Contact Information


Cheryl M. Coffin, M.D.
Ernest W. Goodpasture Professor of Investigative Pathology
Vice-Chair of Pathology
Executive Medical Director of Anatomic Pathology
Director of Translational Research

Vanderbilt University School of Medicine
Pathology, Microbiology and Immunology – 3rd Fl
1161 21st Ave. S, C-3321 MCN
Nashville, TN 37232-2561
Phone: 615-322-2302
Email: Cheryl.coffin@vanderbilt.edu

The Anatomic Pathology Division, with 23 primary and 9 secondary appointment faculty, encompasses laboratories that offer diagnostic surgical pathology, immunohistochemistry, electron microscopy, pediatric pathology, cytopathology, and autopsy pathology. Subspeciality laboratories for hematopathology, neuropathology, and renal pathology are in other divisions of the department and work collaboratively across divisions.

For outside institutions, information about diagnostic anatomic pathology consultations can be obtained from VPLS (Vanderbilt Pathology Laboratory Services) by clicking VPLS on the Department of Pathology home page.

The primary areas of focus for the division are:

  • Provision of state of the art diagnostic anatomic pathology services for Vanderbilt patients.
  • Resident training in all aspects of anatomic pathology.
  • Provision of state of the art consultation services in anatomic pathology for other institutions through VPLS.
  • Clinicopathologic and translational tissue based research.
  • Fellowship training that emphasizes diagnostic surgical pathology and cytopathology




Cheryl Coffin, M.D.

This page was last updated February 21, 2014 and is maintained by