Department of Pathology, Microbiology, and Immunology

Microbiology and Immunology Graduate Student Association



* Student committee Request Form





The Graduate Student Association (GSA) of the Microbiology and Immunology Ph.D. program's primary goals are to:

  • improve communication between the student body and the graduate education committee (GEC),
  • help prepare students for their Qualifying Exams (QE), and
  • foster communication and social interaction among our students.


GSA officers are elected annually, allowing all students the opportunity to hold an officer position during their time in the graduate program. GSA officers meet with the GEC annually to provide feedback on course work, seminars and other important graduate program concerns. 


We provide students with the opportunity to hold a mock QE, during which senior graduate students act as committee members and ask both project specific and general knowledge questions in order to best prepare students for their official QE. 


We also sponsor happy hours for current students and rotation students at the end of each rotation.




Current Officers




Katie Nicholas, Kalams Lab, 5th year

Vice President:

Katie Winarski, Spiller Lab, 5th year

Communications (Website)

Ramya Chandrasekaran, Lacy lab, 4th year
a   Kyle Floyd, Hadjifrangiskou Lab, 3rd year


Amber Beckett, Cover Lab, 2nd year
a   Jake Choby, Skaar lab, 2nd year

Student Invited speaker coordinators:

Theresa Barke, Aronoff Lab, 3rd year
a   Jake Choby, Skaar lab, 2nd year

GSC Representative:

Nicole Sexton, Denison Lab, 4th year

Social Chairs:

Jon Knowlton, Dermody Lab, 2nd year
a   Judy Brown, Dermody Lab, 2nd year
a   Stephanie Carnes, Aiken Lab, 2nd year

MPHI Journal Club:

Lisa Lojek, Skaar Lab, 3rd year
a   Kirsten Guckes, Hadjifrangiskou Lab, 3rd year 
a President: Kyle Floyd, Maria Hadjifrangiskou Lab
a Vice President: Danica Sutherland, Terence Dermody Lab
a GSC Representative: Erin Breland, 
a Student Invited speaker coordinators: Jon Knowlton, 
a   Stephanie Cranes
a Communications: Katie Nicholas, 
a MPHI Journal Club: Aimee Wilde, 
a   Austin Featherstone,