October 25, 2011

A message from the Vice Chancellor: search committee formed for Chair of Radiology and Radiological Sciences


I am pleased to announce a committee has been named to conduct a national search for the new chair of the Department of Radiology and Radiological Sciences. With constant advancements occurring within the field of imaging sciences, and the rapid pace of change for which patient care is delivered, the new chair will have a vital role to fulfill.

The Department of Radiology and Radiological Sciences is not only one of our largest and more active departments; its contributions are integral to the continued growth and success of our patient care and research programs. With 110 current faculty, and nearly 50 residents and fellows, the department performed 573,000 adult and pediatric procedures last year. Through the Vanderbilt Institute of Imaging Science, research is under way to develop new imaging methods and applications in cancer, neuroscience, metabolic disorders, cardiovascular disease and other areas.

As announced in August, Jeremy Kaye, M.D., will retire as the department’s chair at the end of the academic year, in June 2012. Jeremy has been chair since March 2007, and served as the department vice chair from 2000 through 2006. During more than 24 years of combined service to Vanderbilt, Jeremy’s leadership has contributed significantly to the growth of our clinical enterprise and our programs in education and research. We remain grateful for his many contributions.

Warren Sandberg, M.D., Ph.D., Chair of the Department of Anesthesiology, has agreed to serve as chair of the search committee. Other members of this committee include: John Byrne, M.D., the William S. Stoney Jr. Chair in Cardiac and Thoracic Surgery; Jeffrey Conn, Ph.D., the Lee E. Limbird Chair in Pharmacology; John Gore, Ph.D., the Hertha Ramsey Cress Chair in Medicine and Director of the Vanderbilt Institute for Imaging Science; Stephan Heckers, M.D., the William B. and Henry B. Test Chair in Schizophrenia Research and Chair of the Department of Psychiatry; Arnold Malcolm, M.D., Chair of the Department of Radiation Oncology; Scott Hiebert, Ph.D., Ingram Professor of Cancer Research; Kimberly Lomis, M.D., Associate Dean for Undergraduate Medical Education; Herbert Schwartz, M.D., Chair of the Department of Orthopaedic Surgery and Rehabilitation; Corey Slovis, M.D., Chair of the Department of Emergency Medicine; Paul Sternberg Jr., M.D., Assistant Vice Chancellor for Adult Health Affairs and Chair of the Department of Ophthalmology and Visual Sciences; and Reid Thompson, M.D., the William F. Meacham Chair and Chair of the Department of Neurological Surgery.

The search committee will be staffed by David Raiford, M.D., Associate Vice Chancellor for Health Affairs and Senior Associate Dean for Faculty Affairs, and will work in partnership with a national search firm.

I have great confidence in the guidance of our distinguished faculty chosen to conduct this search.

Jeff Balser, M.D., Ph.D.
Vice Chancellor for Health Affairs
Dean, Vanderbilt University School of Medicine