April 1, 2014

Nominations sought for Vanderbilt Prize Scholar

Nominations for this year’s Vanderbilt Prize Scholar — a singular honor for female graduate students in the biomedical sciences at Vanderbilt University — are now being accepted. The deadline is April 2.

The winner will be mentored by the 2013 Vanderbilt Prize recipient Laurie Glimcher, M.D., Stephen and Suzanne Weiss Dean and professor of Medicine at Weill Cornell Medical College. The Vanderbilt Prize Scholar will be announced during Glimcher’s Flexner Discovery Lecture on May 1.

Vanderbilt Prize Scholars are women in the Ph.D. track in the School of Medicine (including Ph.D. and M.D./Ph.D. trainees) who have completed the qualifying exam and have at least one more year to complete the Ph.D. degree.

Nominations will be accepted from department chairs or program directors in the biomedical sciences, as well as directors of graduate studies and faculty mentors.

Winning nominees demonstrate excellent leadership qualities through their research and service to the scientific community as well as characteristics that demonstrate outstanding potential to impact medicine through research during their careers.

Nominations should include a CV, statement from the faculty mentor/adviser, copy of thesis proposal and committee report from the qualifying examination.

Nomination materials may be submitted online to Danielle Certa in the office of the associate vice chancellor for Research, Susan Wente, Ph.D., until April 2. For more information, contact Certa at danielle.certa@vanderbilt.edu or 936-6228.