February 4, 2010

Message from the Vice Chancellor: New Department of Medicine Chair Committee Search

A Message from the Vice Chancellor


I am pleased to announce a committee has been named to conduct the search for a new chair for the Department of Medicine.

Since 1925 there have been only seven chairs of the Department of Medicine, so this search represents a vital time in our institution’s history as a new leader is sought.

This search is all the more important because the Department of Medicine’s programs are interwoven with nearly all areas of biomedical research and clinical care throughout the University.

The search committee will be chaired by Jonathan Gitlin, chairman of Pediatrics. Other committee members are: Provost Richard McCarty, Dan Beauchamp, Ellen Clayton, Marilyn Dubree, Larry Goldberg, Heidi Hamm, Stephan Heckers, Kevin B. Johnson, Arnold Malcolm, Bonnie Miller, Hal Moses, Jennifer Pietenpol, Corey Slovis, Paul Sternberg, and Mary Zutter. Student and house staff representatives will also be on the committee.

Building upon a platform of outstanding progress in the department over the last twelve years under Dr. Eric Neilson, the next chair will play a central role in leadership, not only for the department, but as a partner and colleague throughout our community, as we work together to realize our goals in discovery, education and health care.

The search committee will be staffed by Dr. David Raiford, our Senior Associate Dean for Faculty Affairs, and will do its work in partnership with the executive search firm Korn/Ferry International.

I have great confidence in the wisdom that this distinguished group of faculty will bring to this important task.


Jeff Balser, M.D., Ph.D.
Vice Chancellor for Health Affairs
Dean, School of Medicine