August 5, 2010

Message from the Vice Chancellor: New Chair Named for the Department of Radiation Oncology


I am delighted to announce that Arnold Malcolm, M.D., has been named as the new chair of the Department of Radiation Oncology, effective immediately.

Arnold’s appointment comes via the recommendation of a distinguished faculty committee led by Howard Jones, M.D., chair of the Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology, with fellow committee members Carlos Arteaga, M.D., Debra Friedman, M.D., Ginger Holt, M.D., James Netterville, M.D., Jennifer Pietenpol, Ph.D., David Raiford, M.D., and Paul Sternberg, M.D.

Arnold enjoys an exemplary history of performance both as a faculty member and while serving as the department’s interim chair.

Most recently, Arnold exhibited tremendous organizational leadership during crisis when his department’s primary clinic was literally under water during the historic May flood. Even so, our radiation oncology patients were able to resume treatment within 48 hours.

Arnold has a lengthy history with the Medical Center. He has been on faculty since 2005, when he returned to join the Vanderbilt-Ingram Cancer Center as medical director of the Vanderbilt Center for Radiation Oncology.

Prior to 2005, Arnold was on VUMC’s faculty from 1981 to 1987 when he led the Radiation Oncology Clinical Program. During his tenure he has served with increasing visibility not only within his department, but also in leadership positions in the Vanderbilt-Ingram Cancer Center and throughout the Medical Center.

Arnold received his medical degree from Meharry Medical College and did his residency training at Harvard Medical School. In addition to Vanderbilt, he is a former faculty member at Harvard, the University of Southern California and UCLA. During his career, Arnold has published numerous papers and has served on advisory panels and scientific committees for leading national organizations.

Please join me as we welcome Dr. Malcolm into this important new role on our leadership team.

Jeff Balser, M.D., Ph.D.
Vice Chancellor for Health Affairs
Dean of the School of Medicine