January 13, 2011

Vanderbilt University Faculty Honored by AAAS Scientific Society

Seven Vanderbilt University faculty members have been elected Fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS), an honor bestowed upon them by their AAAS peers.

They are among 503 AAAS members from around the country who achieved this honor because of their distinguished efforts to advance science or its applications.

The newest AAAS Fellows from Vanderbilt are:
• Stephen Fesik, Ph.D.
• Alfred George Jr., M.D.
• John Gore, Ph.D.
• Jeffrey Johnston, Ph.D.
• Michael Stone, Ph.D.
• Susan Wente, Ph.D.
• John Wikswo, Ph.D.

Founded in 1848, the AAAS is the world’s largest federation of scientists and includes some 262 affiliated societies and academies, serving 10 million individuals. The association works to advance science for human well-being through its projects, programs and publications. It conducts many programs in the areas of science policy, science education and international scientific cooperation.

New fellows will be presented with an official certificate and a gold and blue rosette pin on Saturday, Feb. 19, at the 2011 AAAS Annual Meeting in Washington, D.C.

Read the full story in tomorrow's Reporter here.