Department of Urologic Surgery

Contact Us

Department of Urologic Surgery Administrative Office
A-1302 Medical Center North
Vanderbilt University
Medical Center
Nashville, TN 37232-2765
Fax: (615) 322-8990
Vanderbilt Adult Urology Clinic
3823 The Vanderbilt Clinic
 Vanderbilt University Medical Center
 Nashville, TN 37232-5770
Phone: (615) 322-2880


  • Vanderbilt University Hospital ranked among the top 10 in the country for urologic surgery by U.S. News & World Report.
  • The Monroe Carell Jr. Children’s Hospital at Vanderbilt ranked #6 for pediatric urology by U.S. News & World Report.

  • Joseph A. Smith, Jr., M.D., received the Hugh Hampton Young Award from the American Urologic Association.
  • Daniel A. Barocas, M.D., completed the Vanderbilt University Masters in Public Health; was awarded an additional year on the K-12 grant to investigate the role of oxidative stress in prostate carcinogenesis in obese and non-obese men; was named to the American Urological Association Hematuria Best Practice Statement Update Panel, and was elected to the Young Urologic Oncologists Executive Committee.

  • Sam S. Chang, M.D., was promoted to professor of Urologic Surgery. He received the Gold Cystoscope Award by the American Urological Association.
  • Peter E. Clark, M.D., was honored as the most outstanding reviewer for basic science by the Journal of Urology. He was also named associate section editor for the Investigative Urology Section of the Journal of Urology; Southeastern section representative to the AUA Foundation Research Council; co-chairman of the NCNNGuidelines Panel on Bladder Cancer; reviewer for AUA Foundation Research Scholars Program, and member of the AUA Guidelines Panel on Management of Superficial Bladder Cancer.

  • Michael S. Cookson, M.D., was elected to membership in the American Association of Genitourinary Surgeons. He was also awarded Vanderbilt’s Michael Rodriguez Award for Teaching Students, Residents and Fellows.
  • Rodney Davis, M.D., performed surgery in Kenya and Uganda as part of a departmental service mission.

  • Roger R. Dmochowski, M.D., was appointed patient safety officer for Surgery and Vanderbilt University Hospital. He is the associate director of the International Consultation on Incontinence Research
  • Society, and he received the Frank H. Boehm Award for Excellence in Teaching for contribution to continuing medical education.

  • Simon W. Hayward, M.D., was selected president of the Society for Basic Urologic Research. He is principal investigator on two grants, one for the study of paracrine regulation of BPH pathogenesis, and the other which will focus on the role of PPAR-gamma agonists in prostatic and bladder function using in vivo and clinical population-based models.
  • S. Duke Herrell, III, M.D., received the Best Research Award from the World Congress of Endourolgoy and Robotics for his work in image-guided surgery.

  • Robert J. Matusik, M.D., is principal investigator on two awarded grants: one to study control of prostate-specific gene expression, and the other on transgenic mouse models for prostate cancer.
  • Nicole L. Miller, M.D., received the annual award from the British Journal of Urology International for the most outstanding scientific publication.

  • David F. Penson, M.D., received the Best Reviewer Award from the Journal of Urology. He also was awarded a $7.6 million grant from the Healthcare Research and Quality Agency for a study on Comparative Effectiveness Analysis of Surgery and Radiation for prostate cancer.
  • John C. Pope, IV, M.D., was elected to the Society of Pediatric Urology; named program chair for the American Academy of Pediatrics, 2011, and was awarded an extension for R01. He was promoted to professor of urologic surgery.

  • Stacy T. Tanaka, M.D., received the Turner-Hazinski Research Award to fund her research; she also received the Journal of Urology Best Reviewer Award for pediatric urology articles.
  • John C. Thomas, M.D., was named program chair for the Society for Fetal Urology, 2011.
  • Residents Gregory Broughton, M.D., and Ian Thompson, M.D., traveled to Bukavu, Democratic Republic of Congo on a humanitarian surgical mission with Joseph A. Smith, Jr., M.D. As part of the department’s commitment to service, they provided at Panzi Hospital surgical care to victims of sexual violence.