Department of Pathology, Microbiology, and Immunology




Pathology Residency ProgramTeaching Awards -  2015

aAnatomic Pathology

Hernan Correa, M.D.
Associate Professor, PMI

aClinical Pathology 

Annette Kim, M.D., Ph.D.
Assistant Professor, PMI

Congratulations to our 2016 Graduating Residents!


Raina Flores, M.D.

Community Practice, Texas


Ariana Geromes, M.D.

Surgical Pathology Fellow, 2016

Vanderbilt University Medical Center


Kevin Jenkins, M.D.

Forensic Pathology Fellow, 2016

University of Tennessee, Memphis


Adam Johnson, M.D.

Surgical Pathology Fellow, 2016

University of Pennsylvania


Meghan Kapp, M.D.

Renal Pathology Fellow, 2016

Vanderbilt University Medical Center


Maria (Gabriela) Kuba, M.D.

Breast Pathology Fellow, 2016

Brigham and Women’s Hospital


Xuan Wang, M.D.

Hematopathology Fellow, 2016

University of Pittsburgh


Vivian Weiss, M.D., Ph.D.

Cytopathology Fellow, 2016

Vanderbilt University Medical Center


Benjamin K. Chamberlain, M.D.

Surgical Pathology Fellow, 2015

Vanderbilt University Medical Center


Fredrick D. Oakley, M.D., Ph.D.

Surgical Pathology Fellow, 2015

Vanderbilt University Medical Center


Jessica S. Thomas, M.D., Ph.D., MPH

Molecular Genetics Fellow, 2015

Vanderbilt University Medical Center

aKasia Ludwika graduate student in Dr. Deborah Lannigan's Lab, had an abstract chosen for an oral presentation at ENDO 2015: The 97th Endocrine Society Annual Meeting in San Diego.  She also received an Endocrine Society Outstanding Abstract Travel Award.  Congratulations!





aTerumo BCT’s 2014 Advancing Apheresis Awardee

Garrett Booth, M.D., Assistant Professor of PMI
Associate Medical Director, Transfusion Medicine

Dr. Garrett Booth has received a $10,000 global grant to explore the efficacy of a mobile application to educate patients, nurses, clinical providers and transfusion medicine trainees about apheresis.


2015 Mini-Sabbatical Awardeesa

Program in Microbial Pathogenesis

Joe Alvin, Borden Lacy Lab.  Dept of PMI. In collaboration with:  Jonathan Schmitz Lab, PMI

Muthukumar Balasubramaniam, Chandravanu (CV) Dash Lab, Meharry Center for AIDS Health Disparities Research. In collaboration with: Chris Aiken Lab, PMI.


Program in Immunology

Diana Contreras, Holly Algood Lab,  PMI. In collaboration with: Richard Peek Lab, Depts of Medicine and Cancer Biology

Sudheer Pabbisetty, Eric Sebzda Lab, PMI. In collaboration with: Luc Van Kaer Lab, PMI

Pavlo Gilchuk, Sebastian Joyce Lab.  In collaboration with: Doug Green Lab, St. Judes Children’s Hospital, Memphis, TN  


Six PMI Faculty elected AAAS Fellows

Left to Right:  Agnes Fogo, M.D.; Richard Hoover, Ph.D.; Jay Jerome, Ph.D.; Simon Mallal, MBBS, FRACP, FRCPA; Donald Rubin, M.D.; and James Thomas, M.D.

Six members of PMI's faculty have been elected fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) for this year.  

They are among 401 fellows from around the country selected by their peers because of their “scientifically or socially distinguished efforts to advance science or its applications.”
Link to complete article


Sidney P. Colowick Awards



Cellular and Molecular Pathology Graduate Student Award:

Clare Adams
Chris Eischen Lab


Microbiology and Immunology Graduate Student Award:

Andrew Flyak
Jim Crowe Lab


PMI Postdoctoral Fellow Award:

Nicole Chumbler
Borden Lacy Lab