A Vanderbilt University Medical Center Alumni Publication

Vanderbilt Medicine

facebook rss digg

Endowed Chairs Support Research

By Kathy Whitney
July 2010

Endowed chairs represent contributions that have a lasting presence and meaningful effect on Vanderbilt University School of Medicine. The following endowed chairs were announced earlier this year and provide a solid source of support, which will help greatly in directing research at the Medical Center.

New Ingram Chair in Cancer Research
Stephen Fesik, Ph.D., professor of Biochemistry, Pharmacology and Chemistry, has been named the inaugural recipient of the Orrin H. Ingram II Chair in Cancer Research.

The newly created chair is funded through a gift from Ingram, chairman of the Board of Overseers of Vanderbilt-Ingram Cancer Center, a member of the Vanderbilt University Board of Trust and chair of its Medical Center Affairs Committee.

New chair bolsters imaging research
John Gore, Ph.D., has been named the first recipient of the Hertha Ramsey Cress Chair in Medicine at Vanderbilt University Medical Center.
The chair is a bequest of Cress to support the work of an outstanding professor at VUMC.

Gore directs the Vanderbilt University Institute of Imaging Science and is a University Professor of Radiology and Radiological Sciences and Biomedical Engineering.

Couple’s gift supports cancer research
Carlos Arteaga, M.D., has been named the first recipient of the Donna S. Hall Chair in Breast Cancer at Vanderbilt-Ingram Cancer Center (VICC).
The newly created chair is funded through a $1.5 million gift from John and Donna Hall of Lexington, Ky., and was created to support the research efforts of an exceptional cancer investigator in the VICC breast cancer program.


©2009 Vanderbilt Medical Center
Editorial tool created by Vanderbilt Medical Center Web Development
Vanderbilt University is committed to principles of equal opportunity and affirmative action.